A Checkpoint can be configured to allow replacing a job with a new version (presumably edited on the client user's computer) before moving it out of the Checkpoint. The original job (as it resided in the Checkpoint to begin with) is lost, but its metadata is preserved.
To replace a job
If you're replacing the job using the context menu, you can postpone job processing.